If you were arrested and charged with a DWI in College Station, Texas, or a neighboring City please call Chad Jones, a College Station DWI Attorney(979) 221-6677College Station DWI Attorney

 

                    Chad E. Jones
                    Jones Law Law Firm, PC
                    1009 North Earl Rudder Freeway
                    Bryan, Texas 77802
                    Phone: (979) 221-6677

 

About Chad Jones

 

  • Bachelor of Business Administration from Texas A&M University
  • Degree from University of Houston Law Center
  • Board Certified in Personal Injury Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization
  • Former prosecutor and Associate Municipal Court Judge for the city of College Station
  • Member of The College of the State Bar of Texas
  • Member of the State Bar of Texas
  • Member of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Licensed to practice in Texas state and U.S. federal courts
  • Active volunteer for the College Station council committee and the Noon Lion’s Club
  • Former President of the Brazos Valley Young Lawyers Association
  • Voted Best of the Brazos 2010
  • Former Director of the Texas Young Lawyers Association

 



DWI Attorney - Bryan, Texas

If you have been charged with DWI, it is a major offense that can have serious repercussions, including loss of driving privileges, jail time, and monetary fines. It is crucial that anyone facing a Texas DWI charge understand what challenges they will encounter. It is crucial you seek the legal advice of an aggressive and experienced DWI criminal defense attorney immediately. Call today for a fast, free consultation.

What happens if I was arrested for DWI in Bryan?

Under Texas law, once you have been cited for violating the DWI statute, the state initiates two simultaneous, yet separate legal actions against you. The criminal action is in response to the ticket that was issued to you, while the administrative action is brought against your driver's license by the Texas DPS. While both actions can result in the suspension of your driving privileges in Texas, it is important to remember that there may be more penalties to consider and each action must be handled on their own.

DWI Penalties for First Time Offenders

  • Chemical Test Refusal - Refusing to submit to a test when requested by law enforcement will result in the revocation of driver's license for 180 days.
  • Alcohol Evaluation - Successful completion of a DWI knowledge test and chemical assessment is required for reinstatement of driving privileges in Texas.
  • Monetary Fines - In Bryan, Texas, fines for a first time DWI are a maximum of $2,000.00.
  • Commercial Drivers - Commercial drivers are in violation of the DWI statute with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level of 0.04. A first time DWI - DWI conviction will result in the loss of the commercial driver's license for 1 year, while any subsequent Texas DWI offenses will result in a lifetime loss of the CDL.
  • Texas Driving Privileges and DWI - In Bryan, Texas, a first time DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction results in the revocation of driving privileges in Texas for 180 days.
  • Time in Jail - In Bryan, Texas, a first time DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) offender faces jail time of at least 72 hours, up to 6 months in jail.

Texas DUI Laws

A person is considered to be legally intoxicated and may be charged with DWI with a .08 BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level in Bryan, Texas. A person is also considered intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. In addition, whether you are the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle. For these reasons, it is crucial you fomd legal advice from an aggressive and experienced DWI criminal defense attorney. Call today for a fast, free consultation. Do not delay with so much at risk.

DWI Subsequent Offenses

Penalties are increasingly more severe for any additional DWI (driving while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence) violations. Due to the complexity of DWI laws in Bryan, Texas, you may not be aware of options and rights. This is why an assertive and skilled attorney can guide you through this emotionally challenging process. It is crucial you contact a Texas DWI - DWI criminal defense attorney for a fast and free consultation right away.

Additional DWI Costs in Texas

There are numerous charges beyond the court fines and costs that can add up and cost you a lot of money. Some of the other costs for DWI in Bryan, Texas may include but are not limited to:

  • Auto Insurance - On top of everything else, once you do get your license back, there is a good chance your monthly premium is going to be higher.
  • Loss of Wages - When you begin to add in the money lost by missing work, the amount really begins to add up quickly.
  • Towing - Having your vehicle towed in Bryan, Texas can be expensive.
  • Vehicle Storage - After your vehicle is towed, it has to be stored somewhere, which is another additional cost.

There are quite a few "extra costs" when you get a DWI in Bryan, Texas. It is crucial you seek the legal advice of an assertive and skilled DWI attorney immediately. Call today for a fast and free consultation.

DUI Ignition Switch

After two or more DWI convictions in Texas within five years, you must install a special ignition switch that prevents your vehicle from being operated if you have been drinking.

Texas DWI Penalties for Second Offenses

  • Driving Privileges - In Bryan, Texas, a second time DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction results in the revocation of driving privileges in Texas for up to 2 years.
  • Time in Jail - In Bryan, Texas, a second time DWI - DWI offender faces jail time of at least one month, up to 1 year in jail.
  • Monetary Fines - In Bryan, Texas, fines for a second DWI are a maximum of $4,000.00.
  • Recurring Fee: - There is an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain your Texas driver's license

DWI Penalties for Third Offenses

  • Monetary Fines - In Bryan, Texas, fines for a third DWI are $10,000.
  • Driving Privileges - In Bryan, Texas, a third time DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction results in the revocation of driving privileges in Texas for up to 2 years.
  • Recurring Fee: - There is an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain your Texas driver's license
  • Time in Jail - In Bryan, Texas, a third time DWI (driving while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence) offender faces jail time of at least two years, up to 10 years in jail.

Disclaimer: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.